photo credit WarnerBros/CW

photo credit WarnerBros/CW

Brad Buckner and Eugenie Ross-Leming wrote “I’m No Angel”  with Kevin Hooks directing. As much as I semi enjoyed human Castiel, the episode had noticeable lapses regarding “reaper” lore and left me gasping for just a touch more ‘feel’ time after several important emotional scenes. How brilliant were the angels to possess believers? Nice touch! The title “I’m No Angel” rang true on several fronts: Castiel is now human, Dean lies, obviously not an angelic trait and then we have Zeke whom I’ve believed from the first to be good but has now left me with doubts!   First up is Castiel’s humanity which Misha Collins played superbly!

Castiel has always been such a simple soul but as a human he elevated that simpleness. From basic grooming to his lonely standing on a street to having a sexual encounter, Castiel delivered each ‘human’ action with wonder, revelation and with his innate angel goodness. Even human, Castiel is still a badass fighting machine though sweet reaper April Kelly( Shannon Lucio) took him to the cleaners in every sort of way. Maybe her giving, welcoming human kindness sucked him right into trusting her with no thoughts of his safety whatsoever.

My best heart wrenching scene was Cass’s palpable loneliness when he stood in front of the store, after his tattoo. Not only is he left out of the street’s hustle and bustle but he has estranged himself from his heavenly family whom he loves and has fought for. That moment for me, epitomized our most human angel.

WarnerBros/CW photo credit

WarnerBros/CW photo credit

About ‘angelic’ reapers April and Maurice: for whatever reason, the reapers have changed. Possibly because of the game changing angelic fall from heaven, reapers have applied and gotten the bounty hunting job! Previously, reapers could be seen by the dying or when Death was around. They didn’t inhabit ‘people’ and could change what a human perceived. April found Castiel after he was tattooed but the ‘angels’ couldn’t find him. Another something to watch for!

April herself brings up why she would bring

WarnerBros/CW photo credit

WarnerBros/CW photo credit

a man home. My thought was not only a man but a homeless man who was wearing a blood soaked shirt!  Obvious after the fact clue that she wasn’t your normal store clerk! Bandaging Cass’s arm leads to an encounter which Cass himself questions. Why have ‘intercourse’ when fighting and torture would’ve been more par for the course? I agree! I think that Castiel having sex at this moment was having sex for the sake of an opportune time for Cass to have sex. Not really needed, not adding to the story other than to throw in some gratuitous sexy Castiel!

Castiel praying in the church was a beautiful ‘Supernatural’ moment! Castiel knows what happened in heaven and gently asks a woman who shares a prayer request with him, “What if no one is listening?”  As the woman who is praying for her very sick husband states: “I have my faith. Your truth isn’t mine. Someone is listening.” A beautiful thought! “There’s more to humanity than survival. You look for purpose. And you must not be defeated by anger or despair. Or hedonism, for that matter.” Castiel’s human lesson which he has now experienced!

WarnerBros/CW photo credit

WarnerBros/CW photo credit

Last but not least is Zeke. I truly believe Zeke is a good guy but when he spoke with Dean while Sam was awake, a little red flag started waving. When he adds that “I can be useful”, my warning system hit high alert! Zeke is healing Sam so there’s no greater ‘use’ to Dean! Locating April which in turn finds Cass was also helpful. Ezekiel healing Castiel didn’t seem to be out of character considering that Zeke knows how both Sam and Dean feel about Cass. But being so drained after bringing Cass back to life exposed that Zeke/Sam are still healing! Something for us to keep an eye on!

The bunker is protected but Zeke feared other angels finding him while they were looking for Cass. We initially met Zeke fighting another angel on Dean’s behalf but seems like Zeke maybe running from the angels also. I think that Crowley noticed something amiss with Sam/Zeke while they were speaking last week. Whether Crowley smells ‘angel’ or not, he sensed something!

Jensen Ackles portrayed every emotion possible in the shortest time imaginable! Fear, deceit,

WarnerBros/CW photo credit

WarnerBros/CW photo credit

love… you name it, Dean wore it! Jared Padalecki continues to play two people so very well! I’m wondering when he and Zeke shall meet and how much of an explosion there will be!

All in all, I loved the episode! I love this show so I have lots of grace for arcs or storylines that I don’t like or agree with. I’ll share my thoughts and am open to yours! Please know for certain: I’m a hardcore “Supernatural” fan! Til “Slumber Party”, stay supernatural…

